The Psalms 119 “Makeover”

James writes that if we need wisdom, we can ask and receive.

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of Elohim, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it shall be given to him.
Ya‛aqoḇ (James) 1:5 TS2009

The Hebrew letter ה HE section of Psalms 119 gives details on asking for wisdom.

ה HE

33 Teach me, O יהוה, the way of Your laws, 
And I observe it to the end.
34 Make me understand, that I might observe Your Torah, 
And guard it with all my heart.
35 Make me walk in the path of Your commands,
For I have delighted in it.
36 Incline my heart to Your witnesses,
And not to own gain. 
37 Turn away my eyes from looking at falsehood,
And revive me in Your way. 
38 Establish Your word to Your servant,
Which leads to the fear of You. 
39 Turn away my reproach which I dread,
For Your right-rulings are good.
40 See, I have longed for Your orders;
Revive me in Your righteousness.
Tehillim (Psalms) 119:33-40 TS2009

Did you catch that? The Psalmist asks YHWH to:

  • Teach me
  • Make me understand
  • Make me walk
  • Incline my heart
  • Turn away my eyes
  • Revive me
  • Establish Your word to me
  • Turn away my reproach
  • Revive me

YHWH does it all! Which reminds me of these passages.

“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who stays in Me, and I in him, he bears much fruit. Because without Me you are able to do naught!
Yoḥanan (John) 15:5 TS2009

Husbands, love your wives, as Messiah also did love the assembly and gave Himself for it, in order to set it apart and cleanse it with the washing of water by the Word, in order to present it to Himself a splendid assembly, not having spot or wrinkle or any of this sort, but that it might be set-apart and blameless.
Eph`siyim (Ephesians) 5:25-27 TS2009

“And now, listen to me, you children,
For blessed are they who guard my ways.
Listen to discipline and become wise,
And do not refuse it.
Blessed is the man who listens to me,
Watching daily at my gates,
Waiting at the posts of my doors. 
For whoever finds me shall find life,
And obtain favour from יהוה,
But he who sins against me injures himself;
All who hate me love death!”
Mishlĕ (Proverbs) 8:32-36 TS2009

Here are other translations I read too.


ה HE

33 Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes,
And I shall keep it to the end.
34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law;
Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.
35 Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
For I delight in it.
36 Incline my heart to Your testimonies,
And not to covetousness.
37 Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things,
And revive me in Your way.
38 Establish Your word to Your servant,
Who is devoted to fearing You.
39 Turn away my reproach which I dread,
For Your judgments are good.
40 Behold, I long for Your precepts;
Revive me in Your righteousness.
Psalms 119:33-40 NKJV


33 Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I will keep it to the end [steadfastly].

34 Give me understanding, that I may keep Your law; yes, I will observe it with my whole heart.

35 Make me go in the path of Your commandments, for in them do I delight.

36 Incline my heart to Your testimonies and not to covetousness (robbery, sensuality, unworthy riches).

37 Turn away my eyes from beholding vanity (idols and idolatry); and restore me to vigorous life and health in Your ways.

38 Establish Your word and confirm Your promise to Your servant, which is for those who reverently fear and devotedly worship You.

39 Turn away my reproach which I fear and dread, for Your ordinances are good.

40 Behold, I long for Your precepts; in Your righteousness give me renewed life.
Psalms 119:33-40 AMPC


33 Teach me, O Lord, the way of thy statutes; and I shall keep it unto the end.

34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep thy law; yea, I shall observe it with my whole heart.

35 Make me to go in the path of thy commandments; for therein do I delight.

36 Incline my heart unto thy testimonies, and not to covetousness.

37 Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken thou me in thy way.

38 Stablish thy word unto thy servant, who is devoted to thy fear.

39 Turn away my reproach which I fear: for thy judgments are good.

40 Behold, I have longed after thy precepts: quicken me in thy righteousness.
Psalms 119:33-40 KJV

Here are the Eth-CEPHER and the HalleluYah Scriptures translations.

Notice the Eth-CEPHER definition of YHWH.

Has the rapture happened?
   You can still be saved and go to heaven!
---
Are you following God's plan for your life?    
   You should.
     Your plan is not going to work. 
     It is a really, really bad plan. 
     Please come to Jesus to escape your plan! 

Most people are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Jesus is coming.
   Are you ready to meet Him?
   Give your life to Jesus Christ.
   Time is running out.

Job – Are Verses by Flaky People Valid Promises?

No one would use this quote from Judas Iscariot as something we should do, right?

“Why was this fragrant oil not sold for three hundred denarii and given to the poor?”
John 12:5 NKJV

Here is the full context, so you can see Jesus nixed Judas’ quote.

Then, six days before the Passover, Jesus came to Bethany, where Lazarus was who had been dead, whom He had raised from the dead. There they made Him a supper; and Martha served, but Lazarus was one of those who sat at the table with Him. Then Mary took a pound of very costly oil of spikenard, anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped His feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the oil.

But one of His disciples, Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, who would betray Him, said, “Why was this fragrant oil not sold for three hundred denarii and given to the poor?” This he said, not that he cared for the poor, but because he was a thief, and had the money box; and he used to take what was put in it.

But Jesus said, Let her alone; she has kept this for the day of My burial. For the poor you have with you always, but Me you do not have always.”
John 12:1-8 NKJV

I listened to a teaching by Charles Capps where he discussed the difference in the Bible between a true statement and a statement of truth. The Judas quote is a true statement – Judas indeed said it. But it is not a statement of truth – it does not contain wisdom we should implement in our lives. We need to be careful to apply to our lives only statements of truth!

What about things written in the book of Job? I have heard this passage preached in a sermon. You may have too.

Though your beginning was small,
Yet your latter end would increase abundantly.
Job 8:7 NKJV

It sounds good, right? But Bildad said it, and God said this about him!

And so it was, after the Lord had spoken these words to Job, that the Lord said to Eliphaz the Temanite, “My wrath is aroused against you and your two friends, for you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has. Now therefore, take for yourselves seven bulls and seven rams, go to My servant Job, and offer up for yourselves a burnt offering; and My servant Job shall pray for you. For I will accept him, lest I deal with you according to your folly; because you have not spoken of Me what is right, as My servant Job has.” So Eliphaz the Temanite and Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite went and did as the Lord commanded them; for the Lord had accepted Job.
Job 42:7-9 NKJV

Elihu, the young, 4th friend to visit Job, said some things that sounded good. I have heard this text used in a sermon.

11 “If they obey and serve Him,
They shall spend their days in prosperity,
And their years in pleasures.
12 But if they do not obey,
They shall perish by the sword,
And they shall die without knowledge.”
Job 36:11-12 NKJV

God didn’t mention Elihu at the end of book of Job, so I don’t know for sure if what Elihu said was good or not. But I tend to think not, as it appears to me that Elihu had too good of an opinion of himself.

“But please, Job, hear my speech,
And listen to all my words.
Now, I open my mouth;
My tongue speaks in my mouth.
My words come from my upright heart;
My lips utter pure knowledge.
The Spirit of God has made me,
And the breath of the Almighty gives me life.
If you can answer me,
Set your words in order before me;
Take your stand.
Truly I am as your spokesman before God;
I also have been formed out of clay.
Surely no fear of me will terrify you,
Nor will my hand be heavy on you.
Job 33:1-7 NKJV

Elihu also proceeded and said:
“Bear with me a little, and I will show you
That there are yet words to speak on God’s behalf.
I will fetch my knowledge from afar;
I will ascribe righteousness to my Maker.
For truly my words are not false;
One who is perfect in knowledge is with you.
Job 36:1-4 NKJV

The Bible records Job’s four friends’ words – they are true statements – they said those things. But I haven’t figured out yet whether they are statements of truth, whether they have wisdom I should apply to my life.

Has the rapture happened?
   You can still be saved and go to heaven!
---
Are you following God's plan for your life?    
   You should.
     Your plan is not going to work. 
     It is a really, really bad plan. 
     Please come to Jesus to escape your plan! 

Most people are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Jesus is coming.
   Are you ready to meet Him?
   Give your life to Jesus Christ.
   Time is running out.