Prayer “Stretching Exercises”

Just as it is a good idea to do some stretches before exercising, I have discovered a couple things to think about before I start to pray that help me enter in faster.

First, I think about how the Father loves it when I pray. It is His delight. It really makes Him happy. 🙂

The sacrifice of the wicked is an abomination to the Lord,
But the prayer of the upright is His delight.
Proverbs 15:8 NKJV

Second, I think about how my prayers are helping heaven smell good. The Father considers them incense!

Let my prayer be set before You as incense,
The lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.
Psalms 141:2 NKJV

Now when He had taken the scroll, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb, each having a harp, and golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints.
Revelation 5:8 NKJV

That’s it! After just a few moments thinking about how God is delighted when I pray, and how He considers my prayer sweet-smelling incense, I am ready to enter into prayer with thanksgiving and praise!

Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
And into His courts with praise.
Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.
Psalms 100:4 NKJV

For “cool down” at the end of prayer, I use thanksgiving and praise. I leave praying the same way I entered.

If you have trouble praying sometimes, think about how He is delighted when you pray, and how your prayers smell to Him. It works well for me!

Are you following God's plan for your life? 
   You should.
      Your plan sucks.
      It really, really sucks.
      Suckage Maximus.

Most people are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Jesus is coming.
   Are you ready to meet Him?
   Give your life to Jesus Christ.
   Time is running out.