On “Rightly Dividing”

This is a well-known and often-quoted KJV verse.

Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.
2 Timothy 2:15 KJV

Look at the Greek, the Strong’s, Webster’s 1828, and Dictionary. Without deeply researching, I’m willing to grant that the King James translators had no desire to confuse modern English readers. I’m willing to suppose they used the word dividing in the sense we today would understand a divided highway. We are not cutting up the highway, but more driving our cars in the appropriate lanes. Click on these links to see that most modern translations use words like “correctly handles” and “rightly handling.” These phrases make it hard to have a doctrine that one is to slice-and-dice Scripture to decide which parts of the Bible do not apply to his or her life. BibleHub BibleGateway

But a lot of people are doing just that. I have people respond to me that this very serious warning Scripture does not apply to them because it is “Old Covenant.”

“But when a righteous man turns away from his righteousness and commits iniquity, and does according to all the abominations that the wicked man does, shall he live? All the righteousness which he has done shall not be remembered; because of the unfaithfulness of which he is guilty and the sin which he has committed, because of them he shall die.”
Ezekiel 18:24 NKJV

I find such thinking dangerous, especially in view of these passages.

For I am the LORD, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.
Malachi 3:6 KJV

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.
Hebrews 13:8 BSB

One person strongly implied I wasn’t saved, because Jesus spoke these words to and for Jews, before He had died and risen from the dead.

“But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is in me, and I in the Father.”
John 10:38 NIV

(For why this is one of my salvation Scriptures see How I Got Saved!)

I am no longer Facebook friends or a YouTube subscriber of people who teach that major sections of the Bible don’t apply for us today. But you make your own choice. “Study to show …”

Has the rapture happened?
   You can still be saved and go to heaven!
---
Are you following God's plan for your life?    
   You should.
     Your plan is not going to work. 
     It is a really, really bad plan. 
     Please come to Jesus to escape your plan! 

Most people are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Jesus is coming.
   Are you ready to meet Him?
   Give your life to Jesus Christ.
   Time is running out.