My Father, My Father!

I am so thankful “The Lord’s Prayer” is a little different in Matthew’s gospel and Luke’s gospel. In Matthew Jesus says,

In this manner, therefore, pray:
Matthew 6:9 NKJV

I think it was the late 1980’s when I first heard teaching on using The Lord’s Prayer as a template for praying an hour. You say each clause, then spend time praying specifics about that clause. In my experience much of the hour is spent on the clauses, Thy kingdom come, thy will be done. That’s when I pray that God’s kingdom comes and His will is done over the whole world, the USA, Israel, and other countries, the leaders of the world, the USA, Israel, my state, my county, and my city, for the lost around the world, the USA, Israel, my state, my county, my city, and among my friends and family, etc., etc. Many times an hour hasn’t been long enough. I haven’t kept track, but it wouldn’t surprise me to find out in heaven that I’ve spent hundreds of hours praying The Lord’s Prayer as a pattern, as an “in this manner, therefore, pray” prayer.

Luke’s gospel is a little different. The disciples ask Jesus to teach them to pray, and He tells them to use specific words!

Now it came to pass, as He was praying in a certain place, when He ceased, that one of His disciples said to Him, “Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples.”

So He said to them, When you pray, say:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us day by day our daily bread.
And forgive us our sins,
For we also forgive everyone who is indebted to us.
And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.”
Luke 11:1-4 NKJV

It is stunning to me that Jesus taught that this short, simple prayer is complete and sufficient. It seems to me that I would have to pray “longer” and “harder” in order to be heard, but that’s not what Jesus said. For over a year my personalized Lord’s prayer has been a regular part of my arising and lying down prayers. As God continues to change me, I continue to be amazed at the power in this short, simple prayer. Try it for awhile if you haven’t. 🙂

My Father, who art in heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name.
Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done,
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give me today my daily bread,
And forgive me my trespasses,
As I forgive those who trespass against me.
And lead me not into temptation,
But deliver me from evil.
For Thine is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever.
In Jesus’ Name,
Amen.

Jesus is coming very soon. Be ready!

But you, brethren, are not in darkness, so that this Day should overtake you as a thief. You are all sons of light and sons of the day. We are not of the night nor of darkness. Therefore let us not sleep, as others do, but let us watch and be sober.
1 Thessalonians 5:4-6 NKJV

32 “Now learn this parable from the fig tree: When its branch has already become tender and puts forth leaves, you know that summer is near. 33 So you also, when you see all these things, know that it is near—at the doors! 34 Assuredly, I say to you, this generation will by no means pass away till all these things take place. 35 Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will by no means pass away.”
Matthew 24:32-35 NKJV

34 But take heed to yourselves, lest your hearts be weighed down with carousing, drunkenness, and cares of this life, and that Day come on you unexpectedly. 35 For it will come as a snare on all those who dwell on the face of the whole earth. 36 Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.
Luke 21:34-36 NKJV

Has the rapture happened?
   You can still be saved and go to heaven!
---
Are you following God's plan for your life?    
   You should.
     Your plan is not going to work. 
     It is a really, really bad plan. 
     Please come to Jesus to escape your plan! 

Most people are WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

Jesus is coming.
   Are you ready to meet Him?
   Give your life to Jesus Christ.
   Time is running out.